Updated: Jul 27, 2020
Well 2020 is here and Texas Legislators have been busy at The Capitol passing new laws that might impact each one of us.
What about laws pertaining to window tint for your automobile. Texas has good number of laws on the books that detail what is acceptable in terms of shades and reflectivity.
There are also laws that apply to shops that install window tint, and this could in turn impact consumers.
So what is the latest information when it comes to window tint laws in Texas?
One thing that we have seen change over the years is that it is now against the law for tint shops to install illegal window film in Texas.
The law now specifically prohibits installers from installing illegal film on a vehicle. According to the Texas Department of Safety, "No installer or business shall apply or affix to the windows of any motor vehicle in this state a sunscreening device that is not in compliance with requirements of this section".
Installing illegal window film is never a good idea, as it poses a safety issue and voids the manufacturers warranty. Shops that still engage in the practice are opening themselves up to potential fines, and sanctions.
Is 25% Film Allowed On My Front Windows?
At Fletch Window Tint we get this question a lot. According to the Texas DPS Website, it states "Sunscreening devices, when measured in combination with the original glass, have a light transmittance value of 25% or more". This can be somewhat confusing.
Basically what the law is stating is that when you measure the amount of visible light being transmitted through both the tint and the glass, it must allow at least 25% of the visible light to come through.
Since automotive glass is rarely 100% clear, a 30% shade will usually meter around 26-27 percent... just above legal. So 25% film will almost always be too dark for your front windows in Texas.
Limo Tint and Your Car In Texas
Some people do like it dark though! Well in Texas you can have all windows except your 2 front windows as dark as you like. According to the Texas DPS site "A sunscreening device can be applied to the rear window of the vehicle if the following conditions are met. If a motor vehicle is equipped with an outside mirror on each side of the vehicle that reflects to the vehicle operator a view of the roadway for a distance of at least 200 feet from the rear of the vehicle then there are no restrictions regarding the sunscreening devices applied to the rear window."
What About Putting Tint On Your Windshield? Is It A Good Idea?
These are all good questions, and before you consider adding tint to your windshield, you should really look at all of the angles.
The most important thing to consider is whether or not it is legal to tint your windshield in the state of Texas. According to the TxDPS website "a clear (un-tinted) UV film is allowed anywhere on the front windshield without a medical exemption being required." So, according to the Texas Department of Public Safety, a clear film IS allowed on your windshield in Texas.
The UVA and UVB rays that bombard earth everyday can be very destructive to both your vehicle and its' occupants. Even though UV rays make up only a very small portion of the sun’s rays, they are the main cause of the sun’s damaging effects on the skin. UV rays damage the DNA of skin cells. Skin cancers start when this damage affects the DNA of genes that control skin cell growth.
Since the windshield is one of the largest pieces of glass on a vehicle, and you sit directly behind it, protection from UVA and UVB is a must! Windshield tint blocks over 99% of the suns' harmful UV rays!
So tinting your windshield in San Antonio Texas is more than just a great idea... It's a must!
Fletch Window Tint is dedicated to informing our customers on the latest technology and developments in the world of window tinting. To get a quote on having your windshield tinted contact us for a quote today!